The Port

Vue aérienne du Port de Valleyfield

Located at the southernmost extremity of the Perron Industrial and Port Park in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, 70 kilometres southwest of Montreal, the Port of Valleyfield is the only independent municipally managed port in Canada. It welcomed its first ship on June 23, 1966.

Initially built to maintain raw material supplies for Canadian Electrolytic Zinc (CEZ) and Les Engrais du Saint-Laurent, the Port quickly established itself as a logistic hub for industrial sites in the southwest Montérégie area and, later, for several transregional clients who considered the Port to be an economical high-value alternative for both supply and distribution. The Port of Valleyfield is a major service point for the Quebec and Canadian Far North corridor, allowing for transportation of all types of merchandise required by Nunavik and Nunavut communities for their settlement and mining needs.

Occupying 265 hectares, the Perron Industrial and Port Park is home to the vast majority of the territory’s subcontracting companies. The transformation industry is omnipresent, and all modes of transportation are accessible and operational.

The Port of Valleyfield specializes in the transhipment and handling of liquid and dry bulk, general cargo and customized projects. The following are just a few examples of the countless products handled in the port zone: sulphuric acid, steel, asphalt, bauxite, cocoa, cement, grain, big bags, general goods, industrial salt and road salt.

Total tonnage In 2015, a total of 652,973 tonnes of merchandise was handled both on sea and on land, marking a 2% increase over 2014.


Maritime traffic

In 2015, a total of 111 ships docked at one of our eight berths—that’s only one less than in 2014. Every year, approximately 115 ships arriving from or departing for international and national markets make a stop in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield. Other than Canada and the U.S., we see many ships from Germany, Austria, Belgium, South Korea, Spain, the Netherlands, Portugal, the United Kingdom, Russia, Sweden, Turkey and Venezuela.